Term Dates

Attendance at school

It is well recognised that good, consistent attendance at school is crucial to a child’s future prospects. Reducing absence from school is a priority at Hill Farm as well as at schools locally and nationally.

In September 2013, the Department for Education made changes to the guidance given to headteachers about the authorisation of holidays taken in term time. These changes mean that headteachers are no longer able to authorise any requests for leave of absence in term time unless it is in exceptional circumstances. These occasions are extremely rare.

If you believe you need to take your child out of school for exceptional circumstances, please request this absence using a ‘Request for Absence’ form which can be collected from the school office. In order to be considered, this form must be received by school no later than 10 working days before the absence is planned. The school will then make a decision as to whether the absence will be authorised or not and will inform you of this in writing. If the absence is not authorised and your child is going to be absent from school for more than 5 days, then you risk being issued with a penalty fine of £60 per parent.

If you have any questions relating to leave of absence or attendance in general, please contact the school.

TERM DATES 2019 – 2020

Term

Pupil Dates

Teacher Days

AUTUMN 2019

Tuesday 3 September 2019 to

Friday 20 December 2019

HALF TERM BREAK

Monday 21 October 2019 to Friday 25 October 2019

Monday 2 September 2019

Friday 18 October 2019

Monday 28 October 2019

CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY

Monday 23 December 2019 to Friday 3 January 2020

SPRING 2020

Monday 6 January 2020 to Thursday 9 April 2020

HALF TERM BREAK

Monday 24 February 2020 to
Friday 28 February 2020

EASTER HOLIDAY

Friday 10 April 2020 to
Friday 24 April 2020

SUMMER 2020

Monday 27 April 2020 to Friday 17 July 2020

MAY DAY HOLIDAY

Friday 8 May 2020

HALF TERM BREAK

Monday 25 May 2020 to
Friday 29 May 2020

Monday 20 July 2020

Tuesday 21 July 2020

SUMMER HOLIDAY

Monday 20 July 2020 . . .